A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Life… March 9, 2011

Filed under: family,Working at Home — geekch1ck @ 10:48 pm

Well, a couple of days ago (almost a week now, actually) I had this great post ready to go. It was about how we were finally finding a routine in our days. Waking up at 5 am was giving me the time I needed to get focused for the day, yada, yada, yada…

Right before I sat down to write the post I got a blinding, horribly debilitating migraine.  One that sent me running to the doctor’s.  You know it’s bad when I go to the doctor’s.  Usually I just wait them out and whine alot.

Anyway, that migraine lasted 5 days.  During which I continued to try to write, take care of the kids and resist the urge to crawl back in bed with the covers over my head. 

Then, the weekend showed up and well, weekends are never good for schedules are they?  On top of the normal weekend craziness, Steve had an 8 hour conference call from 2 – 10 am Sunday morning.  AM!!..Sunday morning..yeah, it was that bad.

So, I vowed to get back on track this week and wouldn’t you know it?  Monday brought an ice storm and made it impossible to get the kids to daycare.  Yesterday I spent the day playing “catch up” only to wake up at 4 am this morning with a feverish 4 year old in the throws of a series of terrible nightmares.

Yeah, that schedule that I was so proud of?  It seems that it was a fleeting thing.  I’m beginning to realize that our family does not work on a schedule. We kind of fly by the seat of our pants. 

Life gets in the way too much for a structured schedule around here.  Maybe if Steve and I had “outside of the home” jobs, it would be different.  But, in our life rigid schedules don’t work. 

Luckily, I remembered reading a great post over at  LifeasMOM where she figured out how to manage her time without a schedule.  That got me thinking – maybe that would work for me.  Instead of scheduling each little activity, I am going to start deciding what needs to be done in a day and budget the time for it.  That way, if I know I’m not going to get my 5 hours of writing done while the kids are at daycare, then I schedule them somewhere else in the day.  Maybe I give the kids a bath after lunch or I get two hours here, two hours there during the day while the kids nap.  As long as everything that needs to be accomplished is taken care of, who cares when it is actually done? 

I’ll give it a go and tell you how it works out.  I’m hopeful that it will save me from beating myself up when I have to do something else during my “work” time or when the kids are sick.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.