A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Working at home with a toddler April 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 1:02 am

I am a stay at home mom that loves to craft. I used to be a computer programmer, but with a toddler in the house, time for programming is non existent, at least for me. Instead, I use my “free time” (the time I have while my baby sleeps) to craft toys and other items for my children, and to sell on ebay.

Some of the things I craft are:


Asian Baby Carriers (Mai Teis). I used these for carrying my son when I suffered postpartum depression and he was a fussy child that needed to be held all the time. I would have had a much tougher time if I hadn’t been able to “babywear”. He loved it, and I didn’t feel “bogged down” by a crying baby.


Poppet dolls from craftster.org. Ghilie at craftster was kind enough to share her pattern for this extremely cute doll. Everyone that sees them loves them. I’ve made about a dozen of these so far, for friends and family.

Sock Monkeys. My younger kids love, love, love sock monkeys. They have about a dozen of them and they play with them all the time. I love making them. It’s a win win situation.

All these items can be found at my ebay store, or you can contact me to have a custom order done if your interested.

Stay tuned for more crafty goodness, some tutorials, great links and ideas for fun with children.

This weekend we are making a dinosaur diorama. What great fun!!!

 

Leave a Reply

