A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

World AIDS Day December 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 5:41 pm

There are 33 million people infected with HIV. Some of these people are my personal friends. The fight against HIV/AIDS is one that is close to my heart.

I spent the day wondering what I can do for World AIDS Day. It was a difficult day. There are so many little things that I could do, but I wanted today to mean something.

I chose to educate my 9 year old son about the children of Africa that are orphaned and/or dying because of this disease. It turned out to be a perfect opportunity to discuss what it means to live in a prosperous country, and how some people in this world are less fortunate than we are.

In a time when we are bombarded with the commercial aspect of the Holidays, and the true meaning of Christmas is lost, it was imperative that I recognize a cause that is important to me in a way that will hopefully stay with my child for a long time.

From Geek's Babies
 

Leave a Reply

