A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Handling the clueless January 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 9:44 pm

I know a lot of people work at home with a toddler in tow. I know a lot of them are successful. I imagine them with perfect hair and perfect houses, fully dressed with no food stains, sitting calmly, doing their jobs. They have plenty of time for kids and work. Nothing gets overlooked, and they are prepared for anything.

I imagine this, not to put myself down, but to have something to strive for. Because this is definitely not what my life is like. Most days things are ok. I don’t expect much crafting except at naptime, and if I get a few minutes here and there, I try to do some marketing. (Actually, I hang out on Twitter, Etsy, and Facebook). Early morning, naptime, and late at night are time for crafts. It’s not perfect, but it gets the job done.

It’s the times when “the schedule” gets messed up that really causes me grief. When the Baby is sick, or there is a school function, or someone needs me to do something “because you’re at home all day.” A day or two of this, and I’m fine. I can bounce back because it’s to be expected.

It’s when this goes on for days, weeks even, that it becomes a problem. It’s one thing after another. I say “yes” to the “you’re at home all day, anyway” request. Then the baby gets sick. Then there’s another request. Doctor’s appointments. And on and on. Then the whole working thing gets put on the back burner, not by choice, believe me. Either that, or I don’t sleep (and I need my sleep).

So, my New Year’s resolution is to say “no” whenever it is needed. I would not take time off of a corporate job in order to do a favor for someone. I shouldn’t feel guilty if I don’t take time out of my business schedule. Sick babies are one thing, just because I’m at home, is a different matter all together.

Peace

 

Leave a Reply

