A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

WAHM: This is actually work!!! February 3, 2009

Filed under: Working at Home — geekch1ck @ 1:30 pm

So, you have your schedule figured out, you have your workspace set up, you’ve told all your friends and loved ones that you actually have a “job” and suddenly you realize, wait…this is actually work.

Working at home sounds idyllic to many people. Maybe you want to spend more time with your children, maybe you hate your current job, maybe you’ve gotten laid off, whatever the reason, working at home sounds great.

What some people forget is that it is actually work. Real, honest to goodness, work.

I absolutely love to sew, knit and crochet. It’s my favorite way to relax and unwind (or at least it used to be). Everyone I knew liked my items. I sold many of them to friends, family and friends of family. When I started to think about what I could do to help out the family budget, a craft business was the most logical step. How many people actually get to do what they love day in and day out?

So, I set up shop. I got everything ready to go, I put some stuff on Etsy and Artfire, and I started thinking about craft fairs and marketing and boutiques and wholesalers…

All of a sudden I became not only the business owner, but the secretary and manual labor. My first craft show I spent an entire week from the crack of dawn to way past midnight sewing like a mad person. It was hard work getting enough product together to go to that very small craft show.

After that, I started to think about the craft show season. How many shows was I going to do? How much inventory did I need? What if I had a really excellent show, would I have enough inventory to do another show the next week? Oooph!!

That’s when I realized, this was going to be hard work. There were some days that I was just not going to feel like crafting, but I was going to have to make myself do it. There were going to be days when I absolutely hated my sewing machine. I stopped and took a long, hard look at what I was doing. Was it really what I wanted to do? Yes. Was it going to ruin my love of crafting? No. Could I work this hard every day without someone looking over my shoulder? Yes.

Now, I know not everyone reading this is starting their own business. You may have a job that allows you to telecommute. No matter what your situation, you are “working” from home. You are going to have days when you just want to ignore your job and play. If you actually left the house you would have those days, too. The difference is, it’s much easier to do if the tv’s calling, and the couch is right there.

My advice to you is to think of it as if you were actually leaving your house. Would you skip the day if you had to check in with a boss? What is it going to do to your bottom line? If you’ve worked your butt off for 15 days straight and you just need a mental health day – go ahead and take it. If you’re just bored and sick of it, suck it up, baby! Think of all the money you are going to make, and get to work.

Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

