A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Work at Home: Interview with Alicia Helsley from Fat Daddy Sweets February 5, 2009

Filed under: Working at Home — geekch1ck @ 1:30 pm

As a part of my “Working at Home” series, I have asked some very busy, very talented work at home moms to do interviews for me. So, on Tuesdays I will have my thoughts on working at home, and on Thursdays I will have an interview.

My very first interview is with the wonderful Alicia Helsley. She has 2 children at home with her, and manages to run two business. Through Ladybug Letters she sells adorable wooden letters, and through Fat Daddy Sweets she sells scrumptious looking chocolates and baked goods.

Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you do:

I’ve been a SAHM since 2005 when my son was born. That’s when I started doing the wood letters. I first did his name, then friends saw my work and ordered from me, they kept telling me should start a business doing the letters. Ladybug Letters was inspired by my daughter, who was born in July 2007, and one of her nicknames is Ladybug. I started baking when I was a kid and my mother and grandma taught me, so I’ve always loved creating things in the kitchen. I’ve done goodies and candies at Christmas each year for years, and as word spread, people who knew me placed orders. They also told me I should start a business doing it. So, in December of last year, I started my Etsy shop, Fat Daddy Sweets.


What is your favorite part of working at home?

Getting to be here for my children and not having to put them in daycare. Also setting my own hours.


What is your least favorite part?

Interruptions. LOL My children are 3 and 18 months, and they tend to like to get into things when I’m busy working.

How do you balance family and work?

Balance? I’m not sure you could say that I could. I just do my best. I try to make a schedule of what I need to get done each day. Sometimes that calls for working on either letters or candies during nap time and at night after the kids have gone to bed. I also try to not work on the weekends, so that when my husband is home, we can do things as a family, or just spend time together.

What do you do on those days you just don’t feel like working?

Just do it. LOL I have found that once I get started working, whether it’s on letters or candies, that the flow starts going and pretty soon I’ve gotten over the slump.


What advice would you give someone just starting out working at home?

Really sit down and think about what you want to do. I tried other things, virtual assistant, sewing baby items, and they just didn’t fit. I had worked in an office for years, and I didn’t really want to do that type of work anymore. And I don’t have the patience to sew. The letters and the candies are just “me”. And make sure you have the backing of your family. It’s hard to keep going without that support.

Please say thank you to Alicia by checking out both of her shops. She is one amazing mom.

If you are interested in letting everyone know how you run your business with children in tow, please email me at waters dot grls at gmail dot com.

 

Leave a Reply

