A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Pennsylvania Etsy Shops February 9, 2009

Filed under: Crafters — geekch1ck @ 1:30 pm

I’m really excited about this post because I actually got to watch my first artist in action. She was at Second Sunday at Goggleworks in Reading, PA.

I watched in awe as pieces like these were made by the owner of Skylark Studios. She hand cuts each piece, and it’s a wonderful process to behold. I know I don’t have the patience for this type of work. To get this type of intricacy from a piece of sterling silver is amazing. If you get a chance to visit the Goggleworks, I really hope you can see this artist at work.



Kale Primitives
also hand carves metal, with a different, but no less amazing look. What is really neat abut the work in this shop is that the metal is also kiln fired and tumble polished. It gives the pieces a really “old” feeling. Right now the shop is filled with bronze pieces, but the shop announcement says that silver pieces are coming. I, for one, can’t wait.

Finally, as always, check out the giveaway at Handmade in PA. This week it’s a fused glass coaster from One Bead at a Time. I love lampwork beads, don’t you?

Peace.

 

2 Responses to “Pennsylvania Etsy Shops”

  1. Skylark Studio Says:

    hey! did we meet??? jeeez and I thought Sunday was a wash! thanks for the nice remarks!

  2. geekch1ck Says:

    I didn’t realize it was you until I got home and read handmade in pa’s post comments. So, I didn’t get to introduce myself. I did enjoy watching you and learning how you carve your jewelry. Amazing!


Leave a Reply

