A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Work at Home: Interview with Stephanie Brannock of Two Kazoos February 12, 2009

Filed under: Working at Home — geekch1ck @ 1:30 pm

Stephanie busy working at home with a toddler and a preschooler. She has two Etsy sites Two Kazoos and Brannock Arts, and she licenses her art for digital scrapbooking at The Red Porch.


Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you do:

I’m 40, Mom to Max who is 4 and Maggie who is 2. I’ve been a graphic designer for over 10 years, when Max was born there was no question that I’d become a stay at home Mom. I currently freelance for a friend who has her own design business and it’s been a big help to both of us. I opened an Etsy shop, started making felt clippies about a year and a half ago and it just grew into other things. One night when I couldn’t get back to sleep after getting up for one of my kids, the idea for the travel tic tac toe came to me. It’s been the most fun to make.

What is your favorite part of working at home?

Being able to be home with the kids, especially early on with all the “firsts” that you don’t want to miss.


What is your least favorite part?

Trying to get work done with constant interruptions. I have my “work stations” in the living room/play room areas where I can be with the kids and still work on felties. Computer work is in a back room so usually design work is done during naptime or after the kids go to bed at night.
I also miss the social interaction you get from a job outside the home. I had a tough time getting used to that once Max was born, the “no routine routine”.


How do you balance family and work?

It’s hard. It’s balancing family, work and household chores. I do a little every day to stay on top. There are some days I am running non-stop. I always have several things going on at once. I’m a multi-tasker to a fault.


What do you do on those days you just don’t feel like working?

To be honest, I always feel like working. I think since I’m not doing the same thing every day it never gets old. I’m in trouble if the things I work on start to feel like a chore.


What advice would you give someone just starting out working at home?

Don’t try to do too much at once. Don’t expect to get much done. So many mom’s that decide to stay home with there children have a misconception that they will have tons of time to get things done. WRONG. You definitely have to prioritize. I’ve also learned that very little work really needs to be done RIGHT THEN and if the kids need your attention, stop working and go play with them. It keeps the stress at bay and everyone is happier.

Please say thank you to Stephanie by checking out all of her shops. She is one amazing mom.

And, as always, if you would like to be featured as either a work at home mom or dad, click on the link on the sidebar.

 

Leave a Reply

