A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

The View from Where I Sit April 11, 2009

Filed under: Knitting,photography — geekch1ck @ 3:45 pm

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter you are already aware that I am on the disabled list. I’m not going to go into the details (it’s boring and stupid) but I’m supposed to stay off of my knee for at least another week, possibly more.

On a positive note, the forced “sit down” has allowed me to explore my artistic side. Not only have I been able to create the scrapbook pages that you have been seeing, I’ve also updated my Artfire and Etsy shops with some of my photography.

It has also given me time to start a pair of socks for Hubby. Yarn is Paton’s Kroy Sock in Flax. It’s a nice yarn, a little “fuzzy” for me, but I think it will make an acceptable pair of socks for him.

So, what would you do if you were forced to “sit still”? What’s on your “If I just had the time” list? I look forward to seeing your answers.

 

3 Responses to “The View from Where I Sit”

  1. Rosie's Whimsy Says:

    Hmmmm…. If I just had to sit and not use my sewing machine (ugh) I would go through my huge pile of magazines and cut and paste pictures in my wish books (scrap books). I do find it enjoyable and it spurs my creativity but it is something I don’t take the time to do as often as I’d like.

  2. Jennwhite Says:

    I had surgery a little over a year ago and was looking forward to “sit time”- and was surprised how my ‘sit’ projects WAY outlasted my time! I didn’t get to a third of the things I’d wanted to do – read, magazines, crochet, hand quilt, scrapbook -but I did rediscover the crocheting I learned as a child and more than a year later am still using it to relax and get me away from the computer! Thanks for the inspiration to follow those things that round us out.

  3. geekch1ck Says:

    I can see how my “sit” projects are going to outlast my time to actually sit. Although I’m actively considering how I’m going to juggle everything after I can move around again :).

    Jenn, I’m glad to see that you are still crocheting. Everyone should crochet, IMHO.

    Rosie, I’m still jealous of your ability to sew all the time. I can’t wait to my sewing machine again.


Leave a Reply

