A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Loose change April 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 5:44 pm

I am the type of person who cannot stand having change in my wallet. Seriously, it drives me nuts. Actually, I really can’t stand carrying any cash in my wallet. This has caused me some problems, but mostly it has just meant a quick trip to the ATM. But this post is not about the dollar bills, it’s about change – the pennies, nickles and dimes that just get “lost” throughout the day.

One thing that really bugs me about change is that people (well, hubby) just let it lie around on all surfaces and never do anything with it. I can see putting it in a jar for a sort of “savings”, but to just have random change laying around – that annoys me. In this economy, we simply can’t afford to have “lost” money.

So, if I can’t stand to carry it, and I can’t stand to see it lie around, what do I do with it? I use it for thrifting, of course.

I love to wander into my local thrift stores, but unless I have a specific item in mind, I don’t like to use household money to buy things. Those $1 and $.50 purchases add up quickly, especially when your favorite thrift store is on your daily walking route.

So, to combat the “lost” change problem and keep within my budget, I collect up the loose change and take it to the local thrift store. Today my change bought me a new tablecloth, some much needed file folders (50 for a quarter) and some new matchbox cars for the wee one. All for under $3.70.

What do you do with your loose change? Do you hoard it, spend it, or just “forget about it”?

 

6 Responses to “Loose change”

  1. rosieswhimsy Says:

    Let’s see, I hoard it for awhile and then buy something like plants or a pizza. πŸ™‚

  2. Pam Says:

    What?? Where is this thrift store? I need one!

  3. tara Says:

    I love the idea of using change for thrifting!!
    I use mine for a pick me up when I need a cup of coffee! My coffeeshop is on my daily walking route πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

