A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Follow Your Passions April 30, 2009

Filed under: Working at Home — geekch1ck @ 1:54 am
Tags:

I don’t usually talk about my previous life as a computer geek here.  This is not that type of blog.  I do keep up on the latest geeky news, but have not had much use for it.

When the baby was born, I left my job as an IT Professional, and tried my hand at freelance web development.  I found out quickly that although I’m a decent programmer, I’m not a natural.  For me, programming was not something I could do while caring for a small child.

I started crafting to make a little “me” money.  I really enjoy crafts, and have always had some kind of crafty project going on.  I will continue to knit and sew, and I will continue to put things in my Etsy shop, but I found I do not have what it takes to market as much as you should.  I’m not a salesperson, it seems.  So, I was once again searching for something that I could do from home with my toddler under foot.

When I started writing the GIMP tutorials my husband mentioned the idea of freelance writing.  I kind of ignored him, as I mostly do, until other people started to say the same thing.  Then I started kicking it around.  Writing is one of my passions, and they say you should do what you are passionate about.  Plus, I can finally use that degree that I’m still paying for.

I put some feelers out, and was pleasantly surprised when there was interest.  Currently it is just a few articles, but I am hopeful that I have finally found my niche.

Don’t worry though, this blog will not all of a sudden become tech oriented.  Like I said, it’s not that kind of blog.  I will put a widget on the sidebar with links to my articles as they are published.  You can follow them if you’re interested, or ignore them if you’re not.  This blog will remain about my family and my goofy interests.    Which is why you come here, right?

 

Leave a Reply

