A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Life has gotten a bit busy May 9, 2009

Filed under: Working at Home — geekch1ck @ 3:31 pm

It seems that when my life gets busy it is the blog and my personal projects that suffer.  For this I apologize.  I do have new GIMP tutorials in the works, and I have a bunch of blog posts written in my head.  Getting them actually on the screen is what is proving difficult.

I’m in that spot where I’m expanding my life to meet new and exciting deadlines.  I compare it to those first few weeks of a new job.  You know, that period of time where everything is new and you are wondering “how am I going to get everything done in a day?’  Then, a few weeks/months down the road you are getting everything done and more without even thinking about it.

Well, I’m in the “first few weeks” stage.  I’m excited because my writing work is really picking up.  I’m also finding the “tech” part coming back with ease.  And, no deadlines are being missed.

However, my brain is still adapting to the going back and forth between the “tech” and the “mom”.  Sort of what I imagine a non native speaker feels like the first few months in a new country.  Until your brain adapts there are two voices in your head.  It takes me a minute to get back to the code after being Mommy.

It will get better, and eventually I will look at this post and say “What was my problem?” But, for now, please be patient if I’m a little absent for a while.

 

Leave a Reply

