A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Other people’s kids May 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 3:19 pm

This is a rant.  If you aren’t in the mood for a rant it’s ok, come back later.

Hubby and I like to think of ourselves as “hands on parents”.  When we take our kids somewhere we are constantly right there with them-playing, taking pictures, making sure they are not getting in trouble.  You know, parenting stuff.

It always annoys me when I see parents that take their kids somewhere like the park or BK playland and promptly forget about them. Yesterday’s outing sent me over the edge.  Since I am still upset about it today, I figured it was time to write about it.

We went to a local park for a play day.  It’s the kids’ favorite park because it’s consists of this great big wooden structure broken up in to different themes – car, barnyard, spaceship, boat, you get the idea.

Anyway, when we got there we were one of two families playing there, and the other family consisted of tiny babies and a toddler.  I couldn’t have asked for anything better.  It’s not that I don’t like when other people are there, we’ve just been there when there seemed to be 100s of kids, it gets a little crazy.

We played happily for about an hour, then trouble showed up.  Being the type of mom that I am, I noticed immediately when the group of 5-7 year olds showed up with no parents in site.  You should know that it is not exactly easy to walk to this park.  There are not any really close houses so the kids probably weren’t neighborhood kids.  In other words, the parents were there, just not paying attention to the kids.

Immediately these kids started “one-upping” our 9-year old.  Bubby’s the sensitive sort, who prefers to play with younger kids, so he played along happily.  I inwardly cringed.  These kids weren’t playing, they were making fun.  Even I know not to step in during these times, Bubby has to learn to stick up for himself, so I stood back and watched.  Soon, the new kids had both of the swords Bubby had brought to play with and Bubby was playing by himself elsewhere.  Bad scene.  But, I left it go figuring the kids’ parents would soon show up and they would give them back.

Then the kids found a duck’s nest full of eggs.  They started poking and prodding at the momma duck.  Trying to get her off the nest.  Still no parents.  Hubby noticed this now, and we decided it was time to go.  Hubby had to step in and get the swords back since they would not give them to Bubby.  Still no parents.  Now, I don’t know about you, but if I see a strange man talking sternly to my kids, I’m all over that!

As we loaded up the boys, the new kids finally got momma duck off her nest and proceeded to smash each and every egg.  What’s worse was these eggs were about to hatch.  Tiny little birds were smashed and stomped on.  STILL NO PARENTS!

I understand that there are times when you lose sight of your kids.  I get it that sometimes you’re talking, going to the bathroom, watching another child, and your kid does something bad.  But this was at least a half hour of these kids terrorizing this duck, smashing baby ducks and just being ridiculous hellions. What the heck is wrong with this picture – oh, wait, I’ll tell you.  NO PARENTS!

Anyway, that is my rant.  I’m pissed that I had to explain to the 9 year old that some kids have no respect for life.  I’m pissed that my 2 year old had to see baby ducks being smashed to death.  And, I’m pissed that these kids were allowed to run around with no parental supervision.

Ok, rant over, I’ll get back to my regular self in the next post.  Thanks for sticking with me.

 

One Response to “Other people’s kids”

  1. Hello Kristen,

    I believe you that it was a disgusting experience to see the mom duck and its baby ducks being smashed and I think you did the right thing – you explained them what they were doing was wrong because they will maybe think about it later while any rant from their parents might be automatically ignored at this age. On the other hand you don’t know why their parents didn’t show up. 30 minutes is not that long in my opinion. I agree with you though that making fun of killing small animals is a bad sign in their upbringing. I am afraid that it’s a direct consequence of capitalism in which many parents care more about their careers and earning money than investing their time and patience into their kids. This is why we have our oldest daughter in a Waldorf school which puts emphasis less on quantity of knowledge to be learned but prefers quality and teaching pupils to be respectful to other beings.

    Jiri Kovalsky, 3 kids (6, 4 and 2 years), Czech Republic

    P.S. Thanks a lot for your great review of my Rachota time tracker! I am glad you like it. 😉


Leave a Reply

