A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Soft Pretzels May 10, 2009

Filed under: family,Kids — geekch1ck @ 3:23 am
Finished Pretzels

Finished Pretzels

I have been really hungry for soft pretzels.  So, I went looking for a recipe on line.  I found this one for bread machines and thought I’d give it a try.  It was great!

The bread machine did all hard work.  I dumped the ingredients in the pan, and an hour and half later the dough was done.  Bubba and I had a blast shaping the pretzels.  We waited 15 minutes (instead of the recommended 20) and I put them in the baking soda bath.  Then Bubba painted the egg white on them and poured more than enough salt in them.

I cut about a minute off the baking time, more because we were getting antsy than anything. I think that extra minute kept them from burning on the bottom.

Everyone loved them.  We actually think they are better than Auntie Anne’s.

Next time I think we will make the logs thinner.  I was a bit afraid of rolling it for too long.  I didn’t know if that would make the dough too tough.  Of course, I would cut down on the salt, too.

I’m not sure why the baking soda bath was necessary.  I think it makes the outside get that nice crusty golden brown.  But, that could be the egg white, too.  If anyone knows please let me know.

I think we’re going to try bagels next.  And, of course, pizza dough. And then maybe cinnamon sugar pretzels…

 

Leave a Reply

