A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Trusting Myself May 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 9:50 pm

After the first few weeks of freelancing, I have already started to adapt my schedule to meet my expectations. The first few weeks were hard, I felt like all I did was write – bid proposals, sample documents, and eventually the actual articles. But, when I actually started tracking my time, I noticed that most of my time was going to research. I was second guessing myself on everything.

I didn’t matter that I was writing about stuff I know. I didn’t matter that I knew deep down that I had a clear understanding of what was wanted or needed. I double checked myself at every turn. I know this stuff like I know how to thread my sewing machine. I’m not sure why I was doing it. I just couldn’t trust myself and let go.

Of course I’m not saying that I don’t have to do any research, just not the obsessive type that I was doing.

Something finally snapped into place over the weekend, and I began to allow myself to let it go. Once that happened, my writing became less forced and easier. I don’t spend nearly as much time on the research phase and more on the actual writing.

Things are finally starting to fall into place, and for that I’m grateful. Now if I could stop obsessively checking my email…:)

 

One Response to “Trusting Myself”

  1. Enjoyed reading your blog. Keep up the good work! Kas


Leave a Reply

