A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

My Life in List Form June 24, 2010

Filed under: Organization,Tools — geekch1ck @ 2:06 am

I am a Penelope. Most everything in my life is on a list of some kind. Since I don’t use paper lists, my lists are all contained either in a spreadsheet or on Remember the Milk.

RTM has become the most indispensable part of my organization scheme. There is a free version, but because I use it so much, I had no problem paying the $25/year fee. This gives me the ability to get my lists on my Blackberry which is invaluable.

I have lists for everything. Of course there is the regularly used lists — groceries, to do list, gift ideas, things I’m working toward. But, I also have lists such as my camping packing list, coupons, library books that we have out, ideas for trips with the kids.

It took me some time to figure out the best way to create the list items. For example, in the last post I mentioned that I place the “type” of food before the items in my grocery list. I do the same thing with my camping supplies list. My coupon and library books lists are organized based on due date or expiration date. Other lists are organized alphabetically.

There are other list applications out there, but this is the one that works best for me. It is web based and still syncs with my Blackberry’s to do list application. That means I can sit at any computer in the house (or elsewhere) and see my lists as well as carry them everywhere I go.

What is your favorite organization tool?

 

Leave a Reply

