A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

This Wrap July 13, 2010

Filed under: family,Kids,Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 12:29 pm

Wrap_1

This wrap was sewn up three years ago for this baby’s older brother.  It was a way for me to combat the postpartum depression that was threatening to control my life.  I read somewhere that babywearing helped relieve some of the depression and strengthen the bond between the mother and child.  No one I knew practiced this type of parenting, my family and friends all told me to “put him in his crib and let him cry.”  What they didn’t understand was that the crying was slowly killing me.  I could not stand it!  But, I could not stand just sitting on the couch for hours holding the baby.  I had just come off of 6 months of bed rest (seriously!) and did not want to spend one more minute sitting.  Once I figured out what was wrong (at least part of it), I set out to fix it.  This wrap, another one like it, and two ring slings were born.

Wrap2

This baby is even more of a cuddler than his brother.  This wrap has become invaluable.  Even though I have 8 mei tais that I  can choose from (I went on a sewing spree for baby shower gifts and to give to charity), this is my “go to” carrier.  It has just the right stretch, and I love the fabric.  I love that I can carry him in a cradle hold or upright depending on his mood.  This wrap has helped me continue to work, even when the baby is not feeling well, or just needs to be held more.

P1010023

I’m still the only person that I actually know that practices babywearing.  I know it works for our family.  I also know for a fact that it doesn’t cause “spoiled” children.  My three year old is proof of that.  He is the most independent kid I know.  So, I continue to smile and nod when I’m told to “put that baby down for his own good.”  And, I grimace internally when someone tells me they “put him in his crib and let him cry it out.”  (He isn’t away from me very much, once or twice won’t hurt him.)  I just calmly tie on the wrap, pop him in it and breathe a sigh of relief.  Just look at how content he is…

P1010040

 

One Response to “This Wrap”

  1. Keep babywearing…you are so blessed to be able to experience the love of your baby. Boy, he is precious! I love the title of your blog. May your day be filled with love and joy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

