A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

My Packing Strategy August 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 6:45 pm

We love to camp! We love sleeping in the tent, cooking on the camp stove or over the fire, and spending time together. The one thing Steve and I don’t love is the disorganized mess that comes from living out of a couple of duffel bags. So, in order to minimize the mess, I have started placing individual outfits in zipper bags.

P1010002

I have a list of exactly what everyone needs for the camping trip and I lay it all out on our bed. Then I place each outfit in an individual bag and zip the bag. Each outfit has the required undergarment and socks included in the bag.

I also have a separate toiletry bag for each of us, complete with soap, wash cloth, shampoo, toothpaste, toothbrush, brush or comb and any required medications. That way we don’t have to worry about where anything is and everyone knows exactly what to take to the bath house.

I pack four folded up tote bags into the main duffel and when we get there I place each person’s bath towel and toiletry bag in the tote. When it comes time for showers, we grab the appropriate zip bag and place it in the tote bag.

When we come back from the bath house, dirty clothes go in a mesh bag, the zip bag goes back in the duffel and the wet towels and wash clothes get hung on a clothes line to dry. When they are dry, they get placed right back into the tote.

It takes me a few more minutes to pack than just throwing everything in a bag would, but the extra time is well worth it. Since I have the rest of the camping supplies permanently packed, the extra time is negligible.

So, how do you deal with your clothes when you are away from home?

 

One Response to “My Packing Strategy”

  1. Nemo Says:

    Wow! That sounds like a great (and organised) way to pack for holidays! I must try it! ^_^ Thanks for sharing!!


Leave a Reply

