A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Getting Settled November 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 3:03 am

Things have been rather unsettled for quite some time. The (now) 11 year old had some issues that had to be addressed with a week long stay in a hospital. Which happened right during our move. Which made my job virtually non-existent. The hospital stay resulted in us taking him to a special program an hour away for three weeks.

On top of that, my stepdaughter came to live with us. Which is a very good thing, but still made things a bit “crazy”. Of course, this didn’t happen while we were moving, but after we had gotten just about this close to being set up. So, in one day, I moved three rooms around to make space for her. This involved moving Steve’s huge desk out of our office and our bedroom furniture downstairs to the office!

Now that things are settling down a bit, I am getting ready for Thanksgiving. We are having 24 people to our house for a meal that I am not prepared for. It should be interesting.

I am getting settled finally, though. There is a rhythm to our day. This rhythm differs significantly from the old home, but it is there. We are all coming to expect things to happen in a certain way and our days are going much, much better.

I am definitely enjoying having all of my children around me. And this includes the extra kids that are often here. I did not realize how much I missed this in our old house. We never had company because the house was simply too small. Now we have room to spare.

I hope you all are settling in to the new season as we settle into our new house. Blessings to you all…

 

Leave a Reply

