A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Kids Craft Idea: Glitter Pinecones December 1, 2010

Filed under: Kids — geekch1ck @ 3:24 am

Our new house is much bigger than the old one and our once over-abundant Christmas decorations now look puny. I don’t want to spend a lot of money buying new ornaments and I prefer natural decorations over store bought any day.

Our backyard has about 8 pine trees with tons and tons of pine cones laying on the ground. My 11 year old collected a bag full for me for Thanksgiving decorations and I didn’t want to just get rid of them after the dinner. But, they were a little too plain.

So, I got out the glue and glitter and sat down with my three year old for a bit of glitter fun. We placed the pine cones in small cups so they would stand up. Then I drizzled glue all over the tops of them and down the sides. Sam then got to shake, shake, shake the glitter all over the glue.

P1010026

Once they dried, I lined an old basket with some red fabric. I didn’t even hem it, just kind of laid it in there. Then I added the glittered pine cones. That looked kind of plain and boring so I snipped off some pine branches and put them in the basket, too.

P1010029

The end result is a simple, elegant centerpiece for our dining room table.

 

Leave a Reply

