A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Organizing: The awful glove, hat, scarf dilemma January 18, 2011

Filed under: Organization — geekch1ck @ 2:39 pm

The one thing you should know about our house is that it was built by the Amish who shun all modern conveniences such as electricity and indoor plumbing.  It has been renovated for rental, but some things are oddly placed.

For example, the washer and dryer are in our entry way.  This is the only thing that I actually hate about our new house.  There is not enough room in the entry way for a full size washer and dryer so I am constantly leaning over the washer to get the clothes out of the dryer.  And, there is no way to move the washer and dryer without redoing all of the plumbing. Believe me, I’ve thought about this long and hard.

On the wall across from washer and dryer was the coat hooks.  That added another level to the obstacle course that was doing laundry.  Every single time I did laundry I had to move coats or pick them up off the floor. On the other side of the entry door was a small counter/pass through. (I’m not sure why exactly).

Needless to say, with all that going on in a 5 foot by 8 foot space, it got cluttered quite quickly with coats, hats, gloves, boots and “car” blankets.  This morning I decided it was time for a massive change.

Since it is not possible to move the washer and dryer, the only thing to move was the coats and hats, etc.  Since we are in no way a formal family, I decided to set up “Winter Central” on one side of our dining room.  I sorted out the hats, gloves and scarves that we use regularly and put the rest in storage.  Then I hung an “over the door” shoe organizer on the wall using cup hooks.  Instant “Winter Stuff” organizat

In the summer, I’ll be able to take this down and hang dried flowers on the cup hooks.

I moved the coat hooks to another wall in the dining room.  This wall has space underneath it for boots and shoes and is close enough to the wood stove to dry wet coats out quickly.

Now, when you enter our house you are not bombarded by falling coats and hats.  Everything is easily accessible, and the house looks more organized.

My mother in law is organizing the pantry as I type this, making my goal toward an organized house come together even more quickly.

 

Leave a Reply

