A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Dreaming of Spring: The Vegetable Garden January 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 2:38 pm

Flowers in the Vegetable Garden

Photo by Larry McCombs

There is still a lot of snow on the ground and a lot of winter left.  But, to ward off my cabin fever, I have been looking toward spring.  Our house sits on an acre of land that was once a horse pasture.  This incredibly fertile land is destined to become my new vegetable garden.  I can hardly wait to start planting.  I am dreaming of fresh tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, peppers, string beans, corn and peas (to mention a few items).

The past few years I have been reading blog after blog after blog of families who grow their own vegetables and can or freeze them for winter.  This is something I have done in the past and have rather enjoyed.  Well, not canning tomatoes in 90 degree heat with no air conditioning, but by the time winter rolls around I’ve forgotten all about that.

This year I’m going to buy “starter” plants for most things.  We have to actually dig the garden, create the beds, and plant everything so starting from seed doesn’t really sound like a good idea.  I am, however, researching heirloom plants and how to make a green house so that I can start from seed next year.  I’m really working on the “sustainable living” thing around here.  I eventually want to get to a point where I rarely have to purchase things like tomato sauce, frozen vegetables or salad fixings.  (Don’t tell Steve just yet, though, please!).

 

Leave a Reply

