A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Living with “Good Enough” February 3, 2011

Filed under: family,Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 10:51 pm

Yesterday I posted how I could never home school my children. I talked about how I admired the women who could “do it all” and are seemingly happy as they do it.  This led me to think more about how I live my life.

I tend to put myself down for not being able to accomplish everything on my to do list in a single day.  I read blogs of women who have many more kids than I do and still find time to home school, publish books, blog regularly, and run a micro farm.  And, I start to think – why can they do it and I can’t?

Well, I thought about this more and looked deeper into what these women were saying, I realized something very important – they choose what is important and leave the rest behind.  They also have a very different family dynamic than I do.

Are they better than I am?  Absolutely not!  Everyone has to choose what is acceptable for their family.  I may not be able to craft the perfect table setting, sew my children’s clothes or even shower at the same time everyday.  But, that is not what is most needed by my family.

I decided today that I am going to focus on what my family and I need on a daily basis.  My family needs a Mom that is not beating herself up over not being “perfect”.  I need time to write in order to keep from having that “I’m a mom and a maid” feeling.  I will choose what’s important for my family in this moment, and let the rest behind.

 

Leave a Reply

