A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Slowing Down February 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 10:51 pm

The last week has forced me to slow down in a way that doesn’t happen very often.  The baby has needed to be held much more than usual and often I’ve had to simply sit and hold him.

Slowing down is not easy for me.  I’m a “doer”.  I don’t just watch a movie, I watch a movie while writing an article, or knitting a bootie or hat.  I don’t simply walk the baby, I walk the baby while straightening up the house.  I’ve been told that I’m quite annoying about it.

At first, sitting there was hard.  All I could think of was the 1001 things I had to do.  Then I sort of just accepted it.  At that moment, nothing was more important than making the babe in my arms comfortable.   So, I sat and patted and thought.  Not about what had to be done.  But, how in a few months this baby wouldn’t want mommy to hold him.  He’d want to be “doing”.  And, there would be more important things to do than sit and rock with me.  When I realized that, I started to actually enjoy myself.

This is my last baby.  I won’t have another chance to smell that particular baby smell and feel the weight of a small one curled up on my shoulder.  I will miss it.  I know that.  I’m very glad that God reminded me this week that I need to slow down and enjoy the little things before they pass me by.

 

Leave a Reply

