A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Goal update February 17, 2011

Filed under: Organization — geekch1ck @ 2:06 pm

On January 4, I posted my goals for this coming year. I figure it’s about time to write an update on how they are going.

Household:

I have set up an online household binder and am using it regularly.  You can read about how I set it up here.  And, as you can tell, I’ve been organizing my house to make it more streamlined.

Personal:

This one I haven’t been doing really well on.  Many days I forget to track my WW points and eat whatever is on hand.  Exercise is done in bits and spurts.  I’ve been trying to fit it in when I can rather than taking the advice of a friend and making time for it everyday. Today I went for a walk and gave myself a mental shake, so hopefully things will get better.

Professional:

This is another area that needs work.  I’ve been using my work time for other things, such as cleaning the house, organizing toys and grocery shopping.  And, when the baby goes to bed at night, I am usually so tired that I simply collapse on the couch and read.  I’ve decided that once I get a new screen for my laptop (or a new laptop), I will be able to get more work done in the evening.  Who wants to work while everyone is happily watching a movie or listening to music?  Yes, that’s an excuse, but I’m working on it.  Next month will be better.

Financial:

This is a work in progress.  I have a viable budget figured out and we are consciously watching our money.  Our income tax return will greatly help our goals.

Spiritual:

This area is going quite well.  We’ve started attending church as a family and I have a daily devotional program on my phone.  I’ve also found journaling quite cathartic. It is helping me become a much calmer person as I deal with life’s little “unexpected” moments.

I’ve thought quite extensively about what is keeping me from my fitness and writing goals.  I realize that I am “programmed” to do for others before I spend time on myself.  Hopefully, my spiritual journey will help me find a balance between the two.

 

Leave a Reply

