A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Practice February 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 11:36 am

Since having my two youngest children, I have been struggling with losing the “baby weight”. After Sam was born, I was put on a medication that made me always hungry, which made me gain more weight. I finally realized what was going on and stopped the medication, only to find out a few months later that I was pregnant with Jeffery. Since Jeffy was born, I have been doing Weight Watchers, but not as diligently as I should be.

Today I just finished reading Ravenous: A Food Lover’s Journey from Obsession to Freedom by Dayna Macy. This book has really helped me see what is going on with my food obsession and inability to follow the WW plan. I’m using food for everything but what it’s meant for – sustenance.

In the book, the author attempts to break her obsession with food by closely examining how her favorite foods are made or grown. Her description of how fresh food tastes so much better than processed food from the grocery store really spoke to me. As did her description of how a cow is slaughtered. There is a significant Buddhist theme throughout the book, that reminded me to slow down and enjoy my meal.

The best part of the book for me was how, at the end of her journey, she still started weighing and measuring her food and recording everything that she ate. I was afraid that it would be one of those books where the author just “gets it” and there is no work involved in losing weight.

Instead of looking at the measuring and recording as a “diet”, the author prefers to see it as “practice”. The definition of practice is “is the act of rehearsing a behavior over and over, or engaging in an activity again and again, for the purpose of improving or mastering it”.

Those of us who are overweight must master the behavior of eating food in the correct portions. In order to master a behavior, there is usually a significant amount of practice. Even master musicians practice daily. By looking at the “diet” process in this way, it may not be as hard for me to accept. I obviously need a new behavior when it comes to food.

 

Leave a Reply

