A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

In Our Spare Time… March 1, 2011

Filed under: family — geekch1ck @ 7:37 pm

This is what our dining room table looked like last night. My mother in law’s laptop died a couple of weeks ago, so she got a new one. Steve instantly asked her if we could have the old one. We never pass up free hardware, no matter what the problem is. What is dead to you can probably be fixed. (Except for the USB ports on one of my old laptops..but that’s a different story which involves dropping the thing on its side with USB devices plugged in).

After some serious Googling and digging through countless forum posts, we figured out the problem. A circuit on the system board was bad. We could have purchased a new circuit, removed the old one and soldered the new one in. But, my resourceful man figured out that you could just “jump” the circuit with a little piece of wire.

He used the wire from an old baggie twist, so that was free. The only expense was the cost of a new role of solder. A whopping $1.76. Considering he only used a small portion of the solder, I figure the entire repair cost about $.02. I have a brand new (to me) working laptop for $.02.

This is why I keep him around. Well, this and the fact that I wouldn’t really make a good single parent. (I’m kidding, there are a million reasons). My man can fix just about anything he gets his hands on. And, he’s willing to rip a laptop down to the casing simply because I needed a new one. Now, if that’s not love, I don’t know what is!

 

Leave a Reply

