A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

My Baby September 6, 2011

Filed under: Kids — geekch1ck @ 1:32 pm

This boy is my very last baby. That fact makes me both happy and sad at the same time. Happy because my poor old body won’t take the abuse of another pregnancy. I may look like I’m built to carry babies, but I’m not. Each one of my kids has caused some kind of damage to me. This last one separated my pelvis and put me in excruciating pain for 3 months. Complete with wheelchair..nice!

I’m sad because I’ll never have another baby head just to sniff for hours. I’ll never get to carry my baby close to my heart in a wrap that I made just for that purpose. I’ll never again get to lie on the sofa with my baby tucked “just so” and nap. I miss that.

The little boy you see above is not a “mommy napper”. No, from the time he was born, he preferred to sleep in his own crib. You could try to lay down with him, but he wouldn’t truly fall asleep until he was alone in his crib.

He also stopped wanting to be in the sling as soon as he became mobile. Settle down for a nice ride? You’ve got to be kidding. There are things to do and people to see, don’t you know?

He’s a fiercely independent child. Oh, he makes sure you’re within a few feet of him, but he’s on his own. He thinks holding hands is torture. He will do it himself. Forget about strapping him into a stroller. He’ll walk, thank you.

He keeps me on my toes unlike any of my other children. He’s not yet 18 months old, but don’t tell him that. He’s sure he is four, just like his older brother. He doesn’t understand why he’s not allowed to play video games or ride the electric car or be in the back yard by himself. He’s got it covered.

This little boy is the light of my life. He was not at all expected but he was exactly what I needed. I thank God for him every single day even when he’s throwing an Academy Award winning temper tantrum.

 

Leave a Reply

