A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

My Unconventional, Yet Perfect, Family October 18, 2011

Filed under: family — geekch1ck @ 11:29 pm

This is almost all of my family. Between Steve and I, we have 5 kids between the ages of 23 to 18 months. We also have two grandkids who are 2 and 5. The picture above is only missing my stepdaughter. On the right is our oldest son, our daughter-in-law and their two kids. The rest of the couch is taken up by Steve, our 18 month old, our 12 year old and our 4 year old.

This past weekend was the first time in two years that we have seen our oldest and his family. Joe is in the military and is stationed 1600 miles away from us. It was absolutely wonderful to have everyone here. The picture above was the very first time our oldest had met his youngest brother. It brings tears to my eyes. Joe didn’t even put down his bag before picking up his baby brother for a hug.

Joe spent a lot of time just hanging out with his little brothers. Annoying them like a good big brother should and giving them lots of hugs and time. Somehow, even though a ton of pictures were taken, I did not get one picture of Joe and Jimmy together. I don’t know how that happened.

Those two cuties are my grandkids. As much as Joe spent time with his brothers, we spent time with our grandkids. I just couldn’t get enough of them. Surprisingly, other than the babies, all of the kids got along quite well. Our granddaughter established herself as the leader and the boys just lined up under her rule. I figure that’s how it should be.

The two youngest had their differences as was expected. Sharing is a foreign concept and they found it quite fun to take toys from each other in order to make the other one cry. We just laughed and broke up the fights.

Father and son got to spend a lot of geeky time together. It’s fun to watch them pick on each other and take things apart. I wish everyone could have stayed longer. I miss them terribly already. I think a plane ride is in our future…

 

Leave a Reply

