A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

365 Project January 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 10:55 pm

One of my goals for this year is to complete a 365 Project. The goal is to take at least one picture every day for an entire year. I had this project in the back of my mind for quite some time, but when I got a digital SLR for Christmas, I decided that this was the year to complete the project.

So, on January 1st, even though I really didn’t think about taking a picture until late at night, I shot the above picture of Steve and Sam watching TV and posted it to the project website.

When reading about this type of project, many people say it gets harder as the year goes on. Life gets busy and you forget to take a picture throughout the day. I believe them. Today, we spent a large portion of the day at the Dentist office. It was something I would love to remember because the kids had such a good time playing while their Dad got his teeth cleaned. But, I didn’t take the “big” camera with me.

I decided that the camera on my Droid would work just as well for the project and took some shots. Unfortunately, the only one that didn’t come out blurry was this one:

This is a fine picture, but I thought I took better ones of both boys playing. Oh, well, it’s still a picture and it still get go in the scrapbook as a reminder of the day spent “playing” at the Dentist.

I know there are other sites for the 365 project. Flickr has a Project 365 group or you could simply put all of your photos on Facebook in a separate album.

I prefer the 365 Project website and interface, so that is what I went with. I think I am going to make a separate scrapbook page for each week so that at the end of the year I have a 52 page book that I can simply print and enjoy. I will also continue to make separate pages for special occasions, but this project is more geared toward celebrating the “everyday.” A daily photo journal, if you will.

Do you have any year long projects you are working on? Have you started yet?

 

One Response to “365 Project”

  1. […] goal for this year is to make time for things that I enjoy. Like the Happiness Project and the 365 Project and knitting. HOwever, if left to my own devices, I never make […]


Leave a Reply

