A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

Gifts from My Dad January 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 11:00 pm

My Dad, aka “Pappy George”, would have been 70 years old today. Unfortunately, he went to be an angel 5 years ago, mere months before my second son was born. I have missed him every single day since then. And, every day, I wish I could pick up the phone to ask him a question, tell him something that the boys did, or just simply hear him laugh.

Today, on his birthday, instead of being sad, I decided to think of all of the things he gave me while he was here.

My Love of Reading and Education

He was an avid reader and had a very large collection of books. He would become interested in something, whether it was baseball, Old Testament Religion, or the Amish culture, and he would read everything he could find on that interest. He never had the opportunity to attend college but I would bet he was better educated on his favorite subjects than many college graduates. He passed that “need to know” on to me.

My Love of Music

Dad (and Mom) loved music, both listening to it and singing in church or with the Minstrel. He always had music playing loudly in the house.  Music was a huge part of our lives. I am grateful for my musical “education”. Because of him, I enjoy all types of music from Big Band to Barbra Streisand to “Percy the Puny Poinsettia.”

The Ability to Laugh

My Dad was always goofing around and laughing. He loved to play tricks, tease and kid with everyone. He was one of the end men in the Lykens Minstrel and enjoyed dressing up and performing the skits. When we were kids, he would make faces at us that simply made us laugh until we cried. One of the biggest things that I miss about him is his laughter.

The Ability to Talk to Anyone

When I was a kid, my Dad’s love of talking could get rather annoying. “Quick” trips to the post office would last an hour, as he talked to everyone he met. Now that I’m older, I admire and strive to emulate, his ability to talk to anyone and make everyone comfortable. If you looked uncomfortable or shy, my Dad would talk to you and tease you until you came out of your shell. He simply enjoyed people and it showed.

I will always miss him. I will always regret that he never got to meet his two youngest grandchildren. But, I strive to pass the same gifts he gave me on to my children. I love you, Dad.

 

Leave a Reply

