A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

My Happiness Project January 11, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 11:04 pm

One of my goals for this year is to follow Gretchin Rubin’s Happiness Project. I read the book last year and, like Gretchen, felt that my life could be a little bit happier if I was systematic about it. Each month I create a list of resolutions centered around a common theme. Each resolution is actionable and I keep track of my progress on a spreadsheet.

This month’s theme is “Energy” simply because everything else will be easier, if I have more energy. My resolutions this month are:

  • Get enough sleep
  • Track WW Points
  • Drink water
  • Tackle a Nagging Task
  • Organize

It is the 11th day of the month and I can’t say I am doing it perfectly, but it is helping. I am sleeping better and eating a bit healthier. I am also getting a lot of tasks accomplished that I have put off for quite some time.

Some days I think the “nagging tasks” resolution is sapping my energy. I have been running all of us to at least one appointment a day for the last 10 days. It is rather exhausting. But, at the end of the day, it is one less thing that I have to worry about and I sleep better.

I’m not sure if I would consider myself happier at this point, but I’m not worried. It hasn’t even been a month and I’m still working out all of the kinks. Overall, like the 365 Project, I think it will be a good way to focus myself throughout the year.

How are you focusing your energies this year? Do you have a year long project? If so, how is it going?

 

One Response to “My Happiness Project”

  1. […] goal for this year is to make time for things that I enjoy. Like the Happiness Project and the 365 Project and knitting. HOwever, if left to my own devices, I never make […]


Leave a Reply

