A Geek and her Babies

How one geeky Mom combines technology and old fashioned values to raise her babies.

My New Knitting Group January 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — geekch1ck @ 11:34 pm

My goal for this year is to make time for things that I enjoy. Like the Happiness Project and the 365 Project and knitting. HOwever, if left to my own devices, I never make time.

So, when I heard about the church knitting group, I immediately added the dates to my calendar. Tonight was my first time meeting with the group. I was the youngest person there by about 30 years, but it was still a lot of fun. A group of older ladies that hang out regularly have some really interesting conversations (that are not about babies, kids, or husbands).

What I really like is that the group has a goal. Instead of everyone doing their own thing, each person works on prayer shawls based on a symbolic pattern. Once completed, each shawl is blessed and mailed to a person who needs special prayers. I started my first shawl tonight and am really excited about the project.

It is an easy pattern and works up quickly so I may actually complete some projects this year. Won’t that be fun?

 

Leave a Reply

